Etude House Black Head Off Heating Scrub

One of the items from my G-Market Global Haul #1:

Etude House Black Head Off Heating Scrub, 50g

Black Head Off Heating Scrub

What is it for?

Black Head Off Heating Scrub

Ingredients

Black Head Off Heating Scrub

How to use it?

Black Head Off Heating Scrub

After applying this scrub, I use the Daiso Charcoal Mask to further remove the whiteheads & blackheads.

How does it look like?

The scrub has a gel-like consistency with small bits of charcoal for exfoliation.

Picture below shows the heating scrub on a silicon tip from Etude House from my 2nd G-Market Haul (review here). I use the silicon tip to scrub my nose with the scrub and follow by extraction with Daiso Charcoal Mask / Etude House Green Tea Nose Pack.

Etude House Black Head Off Heating Scrub

Comments & Verdict

Looking at the ingredients list, I’m not so impressed. Parabens! (Go google about this controversial and widely used preservatives in cosmetics..)

The scrub has a gel-like consistency with small bits of charcoal for exfoliation.

When I first applied a pea size amount on my nose, there was a distinct citrus smell. I’m fine with it though. And there was this heating sensation! AMAZING! 😀

So after scrubbing for two minutes, I washed it off with warm water and noticed quite alot of whiteheads and blackheads surfaced.  BUT wasn’t it supposed to REMOVE the blackheads?

Thus, to remove the surfaced whiteheads & blackheads, I applied some Daiso Charcoal Mask on my nose. To my amazment, ALOT of the whiteheads were UNPLUGGED (what a word… hahaha). AWESOME!!!! 😀 Usually, when I use the Daiso Charcoal Mask alone, the amount of whiteheads removed were not as much!

But, as the mask is black in color, the effects on blackheads were not obvious. =/

Verdict: When used alone, I’ll give 4/10 since I hardly noticed any difference except that more whiteheads and blackheads surfaced. When used with Daiso Charcoal Mask, 8/10! 😀 The heating sensation really helped to open the pores for a more effective whitehead/blackhead removal after the scrub.

Would I buy again? Maybe. For a 50g scrub, I’ll think it’s value for money since it helped to open my pores and each time, only a pea size amount is used. But it’s not a great fix if used alone.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by My name is Chien on August 23, 2011 - 17:43

    The tip about using the Daizo charcoal mask is good but I seem to have some difficulty in getting one so I wanna ask if is it fine to use iWhite blackhead remover instead?

    • #2 by Raquel Rin on August 23, 2011 - 22:03

      Hi Chien,

      I’ve never used that iWhite blackhead remover before but from the name, I suppose it has similar functions like the Daiso mask? If yes, it should work well with the Etude house Black Head Off Heating Scrub whose function is to open up your pores for easier blackhead removal 🙂

      Cheers~

Leave a comment