Etude House AC Clinic Skin Care Kit

Another item from my Gmarket Global Haul #1:

Etude House AC Clinic Skin Care Kit

Etude House AC Clinic Skin Care Kit (Cleanser is missing)

I’ve been plagued by acne since my teenage days (I’m 23 already ><“) and have been searching for over-the-counter solutions to achieve clear skin.

I was more than delighted that Etude House of G-Market Global gave me this kit as a free gift for my purchase and I couldn’t wait to try it out :D

The Kit

The kit consists of Foam Cleanser 20ml (I’ve no picture of this as I threw the empty tube container away after I finished  it .__.), Toner 15ml (all used up!) and Gel Lotion 15ml (all used up!).

AC Clinic Toner (Front & Back)

AC Clinic Gel Lotion (Front & Back)

Information & Instructions of Use

AC Clinic Skin Care Kit

According to the picture, after cleansing the face with the Foam Cleanser, follow with Toner and finally, the Gel Lotion.

Ingredients

Click here to see the full ingredients list

AC Clinic Skin Care Kit - Ingredients

The active ingredients for Foam Cleanser, according to Etude House USA Website, are Triclosan and Sandalwood Oil.

Triclosan? Hmm.. According to the information Cosmeticsinfo.org, Triclosan is “effective in reducing and controlling bacterial contamination on the hands and in treated products”. So I guess Triclosan is used to combat the P. Bacteria which causes acne? Or is it just bacterial in general? HMMM.

As for sandalwood oil, I heard of remedies using this essential oil to combat acne due to it’s antiseptic properties..

Do note that both the toner and gel lotion consist of ALCOHOL.

The active ingredients for Toner and Gel Lotion are Salicylic Acid & Hinoki Cypress Extract.

I’m sure alot of people are aware of the popular use of Salicylic Acid in acne care products. It acts like an exfoliant, working on the epidermis level to slough away the dead skin cells, thereby, opening up the clogged pores. It will get rid of the cellular debris, bacteria, sebum etc within the follicles and constrict the pore size for new cell growth, reverting to the normal skin-cell replacement cycle. In this way, it will help to prevent further breakouts. Go google and read up more if you are interested ;D

But Hinoki Cypress Extract? I’m new to this and went to ask Google-kun. Nothing conclusive though I found something about this Hinoki Cypress is widely used in making of kitchen utensils due to its “pleasing, refreshing aroma” and “has been recognized as possessing excellent natural antibiotic properties.” (source: http://www.toirokitchen.com/toiro/Homemade_tofu_kit.html)

Comments & Verdict

I’ve used the three components everyday, in the morning and night, for about a week before the toner was used up. During this period of time, my skin felt TIGHT after washing with the cleaner but the toner and gel lotion helped to make my skin more comfortable.

However, new pimples continued to pop out (it was not the time of the month). So I would say it’s not effective for acne prevention. BUT it did helped ABIT with the exisiting pimples by soothing them.

After the toner was fnish, I carried on with the cleaner and gel lotion for about two weeks before the cleanser and gel lotion were used up. Nothing impressive but I quite like how the light weight was the gel lotion. My skin absorbs the lotion almost instantly. Too bad it has no oil control.

Verdict:

Cleanser: 5/10. Nothing impressive and it made my skin felt tight after wash. Not effective for acne prevention.

Toner: 6/10. Nothing impressive again but at least it helped to soothe my skin after the cleanser. And it’s contains ALCOHOL (minussssss)

Gel Lotion: 7/10.Lightweight and easily absorbed. Too bad no oil control properties and it contained ALCOHOL!!

Thus, I don’t think I will purchase the AC Clinic Series again though I think their Red Spot Balm for lightening scars might worth a try =p

, , ,

  1. #1 by Bi on May 19, 2011 - 07:00

    Thanks for the review
    Pheew…almost order this online, looks like I read this on time^^

    • #2 by Raquel Rin on May 20, 2011 - 00:07

      Hi Bi! Thanks for reading :)

      Well, everyone’s skin is different so I supposed even if this product doesn’t work for me, it might work for other people!

      If your skin is not sensitive to alcohol or anything in the ingredient list, you might wish to get a sample or this trial kit set (if available online) to try out first? It might work for you! :)

  2. #3 by Katina Pham on August 10, 2011 - 10:34

    why don’t you try zinc tablets that help to control acne and make your skin look healthy.i got acne all over my face . i try so many products but they didn’t work. but i realized that my skin is much better when i have one zinc tablet everyday.

    • #4 by Raquel Rin on August 11, 2011 - 00:33

      Hi Katina :) I’m glad to hear that zinc supplements has helped you :) Yup, I’ve tried zinc tablets as well and it cleared most of my hormonal acne on my chin. However, I’m still facing acne problems on my cheeks and forehead. Am going to consult a derm if the acne problem doesn’t go away with my healthier diet I’ve nowadays… :)

  3. #5 by tania on August 25, 2011 - 18:13

    Wow thanks for the review, bcs its nice to know another view of product you’d like to buy.
    What is red spot balm? Is that use to reduce acne or reduce acne scar?

    And I did consume zinc tablet, hope it could help me to decrease acne pop up in my face but I only get new allergic. Before, I don’t have any allergic and after consume zinc tablet, I am allergic to egg and prawn. Too bad :(

    • #6 by Raquel Rin on August 28, 2011 - 01:26

      Hi Tania,

      Thanks :)

      From what I understand, the red spot balm is for healing and lightening blemishes so it’ll be helpful for those who wishes to reduce acne scars, not so much of reducing acne..

      I’m sad to hear that you develop new allergies after taking zinc supplements =/ I didn’t know this could happen :( Perhaps you wish to consult a derm on your skin condition?

      Cheers~

  4. #7 by Ainizy WithSandara Playetude on November 26, 2011 - 20:31

    Hi!! ^^ I’m Ainizy kekekekeke~
    well urm… aren’t you supposed to used the AC Clinic Pink Powder Spot first?? It dries your Acne and make em dead.. (joking) but yeah, as far as I used it.. I used the AC Clinic Pink Powder Spot first… When your acne is all dry up, you should use the Red Spot Balm ( use it at night, before going to sleep) It sure helped me a lot..then when I’m done with the Pink Powder and the red spot balm, then I used the toner and gel lotion ^^ It does help me…. You might as well try, just to let you know though, my mom always told me not to let my face get oily cuz if it does I might not be able to remove my acne’s…. ^^ ……. It does suck having pimple right?? I start to have them when I was 13 ==’

    • #8 by Raquel Rin on December 9, 2011 - 20:51

      Hi Ainizy :)

      I’ve read that you’re supposed to use the toner & moisturizer before the powder spot and balm… But if works for you this way, I don’t see why not :)

      Yup, it sucks to be plagued with acne and I also had mine since teenage days too :(

      Well, let’s work hard to keep our skin clear~

      Cheers~

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

